Am I an African Violet Whisperer?

Standard

I have never successfully raised an African Violet plant nor have I been successful in keeping one alive.  There I’ve said it.  I’m not proud of it, but its a fact, until now . . .

 

Who knew that I would finally learn the secret to the secret nature of an African Violet.  Call it AVTLC (African Violet tender loving care) . . . DON’T OVER WATER and non-direct sunlight seem to be the key.  You can also call me an African Violet Whisperer.  Yup, I speak to my African Violet plant every now and then.  Usually I say, please, please don’t die on me!

Violetta is proof of that.  She was given to me as a get-well gift in February 2011, and I was determined she would grace my home for at least one year.  I think my record with this type of indoor house plant is maybe 90 days, but not much longer.

So how have I managed this . . . I remove the moss that sits atop the soil under the two African Violets and soak it for at least 10 minutes.  I then drizzle a very tiny bit of water (carefully avoiding the leaves) on the soil, and replace the moss back where it was.  I also place the plant near a window but not directly in front of it and rotate it ever week to ensure all sides of it are receiving a bit of Mother Nature. 

They say the proof is in the pudding . . . what do you think?

I’m baking a banana cake, gratis bon appetit magazine, one which is renowned at Baked Expectations in Winnipeg.  Check out my blog to learn more about it –

About scoop1942

I am 73-years young with six grandchildren and one great-grandson , professional and recreational blogger, previous graphic artist, hospitality industry veteran, Jill of all trades; master of a few, plus hobbiest, re-cycler and dreamer. My steadfast companion for 17 years, Bubba, who is now deceased, reminded me daily of what loyalty was all about. I now have a rescued dog who has turned out to be the best dog I've every had; Annie, who is part Shepherd, part Boston is sweet natured and a wonderful companion. You can now find me on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and LinkedIn. Oh my; while social media may not have been meant for Grandmothers, it has sure turned my world on end . . . what else will technology bring our way. I just recently got a smart phone and texting is my game . . . LOL

Leave a Reply

