Christmas Around the World . . . My Way . . .

Standard

I’ve always been fascinated how others celebrate Christmas and am compelled to share with you my rendition in a variety of ways, so whether we say ¡Feliz Navidad, Buone Feste, Chúc mừng ngày lễ, Joyeux Noël, Frohe Weihnachten, Buon Natale, and so on, please join me in singing The Twelve Days of Christmas a la Mexicano

En el duodécimo día de Navidad soñé

On the twelfth day of Christmas I dreamt of

Doce medias de la Navidad – 12 Christmas stockings

Once galletas de Navidad – 11 Christmas cookies

Diez plantas de poinsettia – 10 Poinsettia plants

Nueve cactus de Navidad – 9 Christmas Cactus

Ocho tazas de chocolate caliente mexicano – 8 cups Mexican hot chocolate

Siete sopapillas dulce – 7 sweet sopapillas

Seis tamales deliciosos – 6 yummy tamales

Cinco piñatas de Navidad – 5 Christmas piñatas

Cuatro ovejas y sus pastores – 4 sheep and their shepherds

Tres hombres sabios siguientes allá estrella – 3 wise men and a star

Dos ángeles cantando – 2 angels singing 

Un Niño Jesús nos trae la alegría – 1 Baby Jesus bringing us joy

 

 

About scoop1942

I am now 78-years young with six grandchildren, one step granddaughter, two great-grandsons (three step great grandsons), and five great granddaughters; a professional and recreational blogger, graphic artist, hospitality industry veteran, Jill of all trades; master of a few, plus hobbiest, re-cycler and dreamer. My steadfast companion for 17 years, Bubba, who is now deceased, reminded me daily of what loyalty was all about. My rescued dog, Annie, turned out to be the best dog I've every had. She was sweet natured and a wonderful companion., but sadly she passed last year. You can now find me on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and LinkedIn. Oh my; while social media may not have been meant for Grandmothers, it has sure turned my world on end . . . what else will technology bring our way. I love gaming on my phone, and texting is my other game . . . LOL 2020 turned out to be an historical year for all of us, especially us older folks who thought we had experienced it all, until COVID came into our lives. I remember the Long Ranger and Zorro being masked men, but who knew that we, the common folk, all over the world, rich, poor, young, old and whatever other label we wear, would be wearing masks as part of our daily apparel. Before I retired (the second time) in December 2020, I must haven done temperature checks on hundreds of people to ensure they could enter our work domain. I also had to pass muster, wearing my mask and having my temperature taken everywhere I went. This has all been so surreal, but there you have it. I survived all these years to being currently impacted by a pandemic, something I never dreamed I would be a part of. By the way, one of the happiest memories I have experienced is being Santa Nana, bringing smiles to many an adult and child, as well as furry friends.

Leave a comment