Indeed – we should all be thankful!

Standard

Many have suffered tragedies from time-to-time and it seems impossible that the hurt and pain will ever diminish, but as the saying goes, “time heals all” . . . does it really though? 

So many tragedies happen when Mother Nature rears her ugly head with tornadoes, hurricanes and typhoons, earthquakes, floods and devistating weather in general, and events created by human mistake.

I recently met a mother and her son whose house burned to the ground.  They lost everything!  Theirs was the fourth house fire that occured in our small community over the past six weeks.  House fires occur for many reasons, such as electrical failures, a candle burning and left unattended, cooking mishaps, and something as simple as filling a kerosene heater; all of which can turn tragic within seconds. 

According to www.epicorp.com,  “A house fire is reported in the United States every 90 seconds.  This is an average of 1.9 million fires reported each year and someone dies in a house fire every two and one-half hours.”

I could almost feel their pain which was evident in their faces.  While they, I am sure, thankful for not suffering bodily injury or worse, they will experience emotional pain and uncertainly for quite some time.

This tragedy reminds me that we should be thankful everyday for little and big blessings, and not just at Thanksgiving.

About scoop1942

I am 73-years young with six grandchildren and one great-grandson , professional and recreational blogger, previous graphic artist, hospitality industry veteran, Jill of all trades; master of a few, plus hobbiest, re-cycler and dreamer. My steadfast companion for 17 years, Bubba, who is now deceased, reminded me daily of what loyalty was all about. I now have a rescued dog who has turned out to be the best dog I've every had; Annie, who is part Shepherd, part Boston is sweet natured and a wonderful companion. You can now find me on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and LinkedIn. Oh my; while social media may not have been meant for Grandmothers, it has sure turned my world on end . . . what else will technology bring our way. I just recently got a smart phone and texting is my game . . . LOL

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

