Remembering Bubba

Standard

November 6, 2011

I turned 69 years of age today – hallelujah!  I consider this a milestone in my life.  I have now lived longer than my father and my paternal grandmother.  I’m aiming for 99, in case you are wondering.

It has been quite some time since I added a post to my blog.  Yes, I’ve been remiss in keeping up with Scoop1942.  Things have changed in my life dramatically since 2010.  The largest impact was the loss of my beloved Bubba; my 17 year old cat who was my loyal and loving friend whom I nurtured [and kept him alive] him when he was barely 6” long.  He never knew his kitty momma and I firmly believe he thought I was his mother.  Here is a photo of Bubba taken a couple of weeks before his passing.

Bubba, my beloved cat for 17 years.

 My professional self changed as well.  I am now managing a small motel in a small town in rural southern Mississippi.  My job as a graphic artist ended when they outsourced my position. You might say I was replaced by an entire company.  I miss doing what I was doing for the company I had worked for (off and on) since 1983.  Life goes on though and I’ve adjusted; slowing down where my computer is concerned because of a diagnosed carpel tunnel problem in both wrists, but I’m glad to report the arthritis in my hands has improved (or just hasn’t gotten any worse) so I am able to crochet once again.  This has enabled me to crochet some afghans for Christmas gifts this year.  I guess its tit for tat.  If you can’t do one thing, you might as well try something else.

Things are mighty different where I’m at now.  Before, I lived in a suburb of a large exhilarating city with plenty of hustle and bustle; shopping opportunities just like many of  the great cities in the world; a foodie’s paradise and so much to do there simply was not enough time to get around even to make a dent in extracurricular activities. 

Taylorsville has less than 1,500 residents; and, NO red light!  We have two grocery stores, two discount stores (no Wally world though), two gas stations, several sit down restaurants, but, ironically, a lot of traffic from 6 am until about 8 pm.  I like the quiet slow pace though and feel very comfortable in this friendly little town.

My life has thus slowed down considerably, and frankly I am glad.  I have finally realized that when one reaches age 69 one does slow down and its okay. 

On a more professional note, I began another blog and am working on a newsletter for the hospitality industry (after all, I worked in the field for some 35 years).  You can find my new blog (related to travel and tourism) at http://scoop110642.wordpress.com/ aka Arm-chair Tourist et al.

I’ll sign off now and try to be more prolific in the future.  Oh, by the way, I baked my first Challah bread. It came out beautiful (looked just like the photo in Martha Stewart’s Living Magazine) and tasted so yummy.  I’ll be sure to post a photo of it the next time I bake one, which will be soon. 

 

 

About scoop1942

I am 73-years young with six grandchildren and one great-grandson , professional and recreational blogger, previous graphic artist, hospitality industry veteran, Jill of all trades; master of a few, plus hobbiest, re-cycler and dreamer. My steadfast companion for 17 years, Bubba, who is now deceased, reminded me daily of what loyalty was all about. I now have a rescued dog who has turned out to be the best dog I've every had; Annie, who is part Shepherd, part Boston is sweet natured and a wonderful companion. You can now find me on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and LinkedIn. Oh my; while social media may not have been meant for Grandmothers, it has sure turned my world on end . . . what else will technology bring our way. I just recently got a smart phone and texting is my game . . . LOL

2 responses »

    • Did you read the ‘arm-chair tourist et al’ blog? I’d like that — let me know when the Christmas pagentry etc. is all out and I’ll plan to leave early one morning so you can show me the city and we can do lunch. Thanks. Louise

Leave a Reply

