Roses are Red, Pink and Yellow too . . .

Standard

“I beg your pardon, I never promised you a rose garden” . . .  surely some of you remember that stanza from a popular country and western song in years past.  And, then maybe not, but it does reveal a little about this blog. 

Note how the velvety petals begin to cast its winter coat aside

Perhaps a tweener - not quite grown up

I love roses, the deeper the red the better; the brighter the yellow, the pinker the pink and the pureness of a stark white rose are some of the reasons I love them.  Emerald green, grass green leaves and forest green leaves; some oval shaped, some shaped like tear drops and some non-descript add the perfect background to the most beautiful flower in the world.

I do not claim to be an expert on growing roses, and I could not name a rose if my life depended on it, unless it had one of those tags that come with most rose bushes.  That does not mean I don’t know how to nuture them and coax them into brilliance.  So, I shall share with you my rose garden; small, but filled with delightful fragrances.  I will water them gently, whisper good morning and good evening to them, keep watch over them as a Mother hen does her baby chicks, and wish them into a bounty of blooms to last throughout the summer. 

I’ll not bore you with any more verbage.  I’ll just provide the beginning of my beauty pageant and take you through their growing stages — so, if you wll bear with me, this is the first of many blogs I will write about MY roses.

“Whats in a name?  That which we call a rose by any other word would smell as sweet”  . . . Shakespeare

About scoop1942

I am 74-years young with six grandchildren and one great-grandson, two great granddaughters, professional and recreational blogger, previous graphic artist, hospitality industry veteran, Jill of all trades; master of a few, plus hobbiest, re-cycler and dreamer. My steadfast companion for 17 years, Bubba, who is now deceased, reminded me daily of what loyalty was all about. I now have a rescued dog who has turned out to be the best dog I've every had; Annie, who is part Shepherd, part Boston is sweet natured and a wonderful companion. You can now find me on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and LinkedIn. Oh my; while social media may not have been meant for Grandmothers, it has sure turned my world on end . . . what else will technology bring our way. I just recently got a smart phone and texting is my game . . . LOL

One response »

  1. Cant wait to see the full blooms! Bright yellow roses have always been my favorite, what colors do you have in your garden?

Leave a Reply

