Another Bucket List Challenge – Growing Things!

Standard

It’s the beginning of spring, no doubt about that!  Birds are chirping, squirrels skittering about hunting for their hidden treasures, women pushing babies in strollers, children riding bikes or doing wheelies on skateboards, and people just milling about here and there in the out-of-doors.

And for me, it means raking up the fall and winter pine straw, cleaning out last years flower beds, and the start of my planting and replanting flowers galore.  This past weekend was beautiful here, so I did just that, as noted in some of my photos below.  Sure, I had a head start by visiting my local garden centers where I was able to purchase some rarely large plants, but I also did some planting with seeds and purchased some seedlings as well.  No sense in starting from scratch for everything.

A little color goes a long way in saying "welcome"

I’ve a big project ahead of me in my back yard.  It is pretty pathetic looking, so I will provide a before an after scenario so you can see exactly what I’m talking about.  In the meanwhile, I’ll enjoy the bits of color that I’ve already added.

Come visit me to see how my garden grows.

Till next time,

This is just the beginning of a kaleidescope of color greeting folks passing by.

About scoop1942

I am 74-years young with six grandchildren and one great-grandson, two great granddaughters, professional and recreational blogger, previous graphic artist, hospitality industry veteran, Jill of all trades; master of a few, plus hobbiest, re-cycler and dreamer. My steadfast companion for 17 years, Bubba, who is now deceased, reminded me daily of what loyalty was all about. I now have a rescued dog who has turned out to be the best dog I've every had; Annie, who is part Shepherd, part Boston is sweet natured and a wonderful companion. You can now find me on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and LinkedIn. Oh my; while social media may not have been meant for Grandmothers, it has sure turned my world on end . . . what else will technology bring our way. I just recently got a smart phone and texting is my game . . . LOL

Leave a Reply

