The Potato Bun Caper

Standard

I bet you thought I had given up on baking any more bread.  Not!  I just haven’t been motivated, but a little 10 year-old changed that.  Grandchildren have a way of doing that you know.

Anyhow, my little Tif Tif, as her Mother and Sister call her, spent the night, and along with pizza, watching The Princess and the Frog, we decided to bake some potato bread; which happens to be her favorite kind of bread. 

I followed the same procedure as the last time I baked and well, it still needs some tweaking.  My oven simply is not calibrated correct it seems – again, I could have lowered the temperature or either shorted the time by 10 minutes, but I pulled those potato bread buns out of the oven just in time, as noted in the photo below.  A little longer and they would not be the golden brown you see here.

I’m still trying, and as long as there is soft creamery butter around, a little marmalade or fresh berry jam then I’ll keep trying to bake that perfect loaf of bread.

About scoop1942

I am 74-years young with six grandchildren and one great-grandson, two great granddaughters, professional and recreational blogger, previous graphic artist, hospitality industry veteran, Jill of all trades; master of a few, plus hobbiest, re-cycler and dreamer. My steadfast companion for 17 years, Bubba, who is now deceased, reminded me daily of what loyalty was all about. I now have a rescued dog who has turned out to be the best dog I've every had; Annie, who is part Shepherd, part Boston is sweet natured and a wonderful companion. You can now find me on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and LinkedIn. Oh my; while social media may not have been meant for Grandmothers, it has sure turned my world on end . . . what else will technology bring our way. I just recently got a smart phone and texting is my game . . . LOL

One response »

Leave a Reply

