This Magic Hat Doesn’t Come with a Rabbit!

Standard

Number Nine! #9!

Not quite pale ale — #9, ale with a natural flavor.  So says the Magic Hat Brewing Company in Burlington, Vermont.

Smooth #9

My first sip ended on a sweet note.  Not a very strong taste at all, but a small burp in every sip or drink so far and I’ve gone through 3 ounces so far.

Hmmmmmm, the bowl of chili with just the right amount of shredded cheese and several dashes of hot sauce was a fine match for this mellow brew.

I love their website: www.magichat.net — kind of spooky and whimsical all at the same time when it first displays.  Tabs include elixirs, now playing and peep show.  Try the Sipcode Locator, although my favorite is the elixir tab where I learned about Howl, Roxy Rolles, Vinyl and Wacko.  Yup, you guessed it, these are all brews.  Howl is a black lager – mmm I’m not too fond of black ale or lager, at least not yet.  And, Wacko is a summer beer (English ale) which I may try next.  By the way, these are their seasonal beers.

#9 is one of their regular brews, with no particular description.  But you might want to try Circus Boy, Lucky Kat with the sexy pink label or Single Chair Ale which has a photo of a single chair.  By the way, their beer is safe for Vegans — it contains nothing in it related to meat, but if you drink one you might enjoy eating a steak or burger.

The Magic Hat Brewing Company opened in 1994, a relatively young microbrewery but quite hip.  They use all the social network aids and again, if you visit their website you’ll see what I mean.  I read where they have a  little diddy under the beer cap, and sometimes a phone number or website, which when called or logged onto can reveal cool prizes.  Mine had a little diddy.  Guess I’ll have to buy another one of their brews to see if I’m a lucky winner.

Here’s another interesting website to visit if you want to become a beer connoisseur: www.beer-faq.com

“Without question, the greatest invention in the history of mankind is beer.  Oh, I grant you that the wheel was also a fine invention, but the wheel does not go nearly as well with pizza.” – writer/humorist Dave Barry

If I were celebrating St. Patty’s Day, then I could be from Ireland to be sure . . .  Feicfidh mé a bheith anseo nuair tú ar ais.

About scoop1942

I am 73-years young with six grandchildren and one great-grandson , professional and recreational blogger, previous graphic artist, hospitality industry veteran, Jill of all trades; master of a few, plus hobbiest, re-cycler and dreamer. My steadfast companion for 17 years, Bubba, who is now deceased, reminded me daily of what loyalty was all about. I now have a rescued dog who has turned out to be the best dog I've every had; Annie, who is part Shepherd, part Boston is sweet natured and a wonderful companion. You can now find me on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and LinkedIn. Oh my; while social media may not have been meant for Grandmothers, it has sure turned my world on end . . . what else will technology bring our way. I just recently got a smart phone and texting is my game . . . LOL

Leave a Reply

