Just ‘A Rolling . . . And the #33

Standard

 Rolling Rock that is; wow what a nice crisp and light tasting beer.  I suppose it has something to do with the fact it is an ‘extra pale’ lager.  I like that green bottle, simple understated label etched right on the glass.

Now here is a beer that I think is an easy sipper; doesn’t necessarily need a meal to go with it.  A kick back and relax kind of beer.  I can however see a plate of crusty bread and chunks of cheese as a great accompaniment for Rolling Rock, and if you need a meal to go with this brew then you can pretty much serve anything.  Rolling Rock will not compete with the flavors.

The Latrobe Brewing Company, in a small town in Western Pennsylvania, had been home to Rolling Rock from 1936 until 2006, when Anheuser-Busch purchased the Rolling Rock brands and began brewing it in Newark, New Jersey, although they pledged to carry on the tradition born in this green bottle.  This saying is still seen on the back of the bottle preceded by Anheuser-Busch’ own statement of:  “To honor the tradition of this great brand, we quoted from the original pledge of quality.”

“From the glass lined tanks of Old Latrobe, we tender this premium beer for your enjoyment as a tribute to your good taste.  It comes from the mountain springs to you.”  “33”

So there you have it: they pledge to bring a beer of quality to you, and I do believe they have fulfilled their promise.

So, what’s the deal about the #33 – well it has all sorts of mystique behind it?  Why not let them tell you all about it in their Town Gazette on line newsletter.  Visit them here: http://www.rollingrock.com/#/small/story3/.  Here is another pretty neat website to visit for a variety of facts: http://www.beer-faq.com/the-faq/beer-quotes/

In the meanwhile I may just have to start a collection of those pretty green bottles as I continue on my quest to become a beer connoisseur.

“This is grain, which any fool can eat, but for which the Lord intended a more divine means of consumption – Beer!” – Robin Hood, Prince of Thieves, Friar Tuck

As they say in CB land, catch you on the flip flop . . .

About scoop1942

I am 73-years young with six grandchildren and one great-grandson , professional and recreational blogger, previous graphic artist, hospitality industry veteran, Jill of all trades; master of a few, plus hobbiest, re-cycler and dreamer. My steadfast companion for 17 years, Bubba, who is now deceased, reminded me daily of what loyalty was all about. I now have a rescued dog who has turned out to be the best dog I've every had; Annie, who is part Shepherd, part Boston is sweet natured and a wonderful companion. You can now find me on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and LinkedIn. Oh my; while social media may not have been meant for Grandmothers, it has sure turned my world on end . . . what else will technology bring our way. I just recently got a smart phone and texting is my game . . . LOL

One response »

Leave a Reply

