#1 Beer

Standard

Before I even opened the Kirin Ichiban bottle I glanced to see where it had been brewed, and much to my surprise it was brewed “under the supervision of our brew master by Anheuser-Busch, Los Angeles, California.”

Okay, I felt duped.  I remember, when living in Okinawa from 1965 until 1968, my husband downing a few Kirin.  Now, I was under the impression it was made with rice, and that it was made in Japan.  So naturally, in my quest to become a beer connoisseur, I feel cheated.  How on earth am I really going to be able to determine the differences in beer when every time I turn around I find the ale, lager or just plain beer I am test tasting not what I thought it to be; original to its origin or at least an interpretation of where it was brewed; in this case Japan.  Not California!

Don’t believe me, I’m a novice, instead visit a pro: Bruguru’s Full Review says it all. http://www.epinions.com/review/Kirin_Ichiban/content_108922310276,

I do however feel that I need to give you my personal opinion, none-the-less.  Not bad – minimal burp factor – definite bitter after taste. 

Went well with my cooked cold shrimp and buttery Ritz crackers.  So there you have it.

What about the brewery in Japan where this beer first originated from.  The Kirin Brewery Company, Ltd. (Kirin Bīru Kabushiki-gaisha) sells two of the most popular beers in Japan including Kirin Lager (the country’s oldest beer).  Kirin also handles distribution for several foreign labels including Heineken and Budweiser.  Although I do not have any facts or nothing to back me up on this, I sincerely do not believe that this arrangement existed during the Viet Nam era.  I may be mistaken, and if I am, please point me in the right direction.

If you’ll recall in my desire to do new things (from my bucket list) I said I wished to be a beer connoisseur, I never alluded to become an expert, so I’ll leave the nitty gritty and real number crunching facts to those experts out there, which I am learning are many.  So, if you are interested in just an every day person giving their opinion of a specific brew and also pairing it up with a tasty morsel or two, then I’m your gal.  Keep reading and I’ll keep taste testing . . .

 “He was a wise man who invented beer.” – Plato

It’s Dutch to me: ik heb van onze tjd samen genoten

About scoop1942

I am 73-years young with six grandchildren and one great-grandson , professional and recreational blogger, previous graphic artist, hospitality industry veteran, Jill of all trades; master of a few, plus hobbiest, re-cycler and dreamer. My steadfast companion for 17 years, Bubba, who is now deceased, reminded me daily of what loyalty was all about. I now have a rescued dog who has turned out to be the best dog I've every had; Annie, who is part Shepherd, part Boston is sweet natured and a wonderful companion. You can now find me on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and LinkedIn. Oh my; while social media may not have been meant for Grandmothers, it has sure turned my world on end . . . what else will technology bring our way. I just recently got a smart phone and texting is my game . . . LOL

One response »

Leave a Reply

