Fishin’ for a New Brew?

Standard

I sort of figured that the bottle of Georgia Brown Ale was brewed somewhere in the State of Georgia, but little did I know that it was the Sweet Water Brewing Company, right here in Hotlanta that puts out this amber colored ale.  This young brewery was named the “Small Brewery of the Year,” quite an accolade for Bensch and McNerney, two University of Colorado fellows who turned in their books for beer and ended up putting Georgia Brown on the beer map. To learn more, visit their pretty cool website: http://www.sweetwaterbrew.com/

I have to say, I was not an instant fan.  I thought the ale to be a little bitter, but after two or three sips and a few little gurgly teeny tiny burps, plus a bite or two of my Pastrami on Rye, it turned out to be a pretty good brew.

Fact is, I could see myself sitting around a camp fire with friends and family, cooking freshly caught fish, and downing one of two Georgia Browns.  Now that I think of it, I probably did just that back in the day.  I could throw a fishing line and was a pretty good aim.  There was many a time that  I plopped a plastic squiggler or jiggler into the murky waters of several nearby fishing ponds, including Sweetwater Creek, the name sake for the brewering company of Georgia Brown. 

I’m glad I selected that particular brew; a plethora of memories came rushing back.  Some good, some not so good, but  it was all part of my first 67 years of growing up.  Kind of funny how the bubbles in beer can tickle the memory buds.

“Every man’s memory is his private literature.”  ~ Aldous Huxley

jusqu’à la fois suivante as they say in French

 
 
 
 
 
 

 

About scoop1942

I am 74-years young with six grandchildren and one great-grandson, two great granddaughters, professional and recreational blogger, previous graphic artist, hospitality industry veteran, Jill of all trades; master of a few, plus hobbiest, re-cycler and dreamer. My steadfast companion for 17 years, Bubba, who is now deceased, reminded me daily of what loyalty was all about. I now have a rescued dog who has turned out to be the best dog I've every had; Annie, who is part Shepherd, part Boston is sweet natured and a wonderful companion. You can now find me on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and LinkedIn. Oh my; while social media may not have been meant for Grandmothers, it has sure turned my world on end . . . what else will technology bring our way. I just recently got a smart phone and texting is my game . . . LOL

Leave a Reply

