The Continuing Saga of A Beer Connoisseur

Standard

For those of you blogging readers who may have missed some of the reasons I am blogging about beer, back up a blog or two and catch my first blog about the first bottle or was it the first two burbs in my quest to learn to sip or not to sip. 

Okay, the next cold one I reached for was a George Killian’s Irish Red, a premium lager.  From the moment I opened that amber bottle I thought to myself, now this is a beer!  First sip was smooth and I could taste the beer (which I believe must be the malt).  It was rich and I guess full bodied, and two sips and one burb (at about a 6 on my burb scale) leads me to believe that a lot beer drinkers probably like this beer a lot.

What comes to mind, from a food perspective,  is that  a nice juicy ribeye would sure go well with this brew.

Oh my goodness!  These were my words when I discovered that the Coors Brewing Company in Golden, Colorado brews Killian’s Irish Red.  Who would have thought this; not I?  I had actually imagined this being a real import.  I mean, after all, it says Irish Red, so doesn’t that mean it should come from Ireland?

I like its taste, but it’s definitely a burber and it’s pretty filling.  It appears that folks who rated Killian’s Irish Red put it in a category of about 4 out of 5.  Not bad; however, I can’t quite understand how some of the rater’s came up with: sweet, burnt malt.  Hmmmm, I tasted no sweetness although it is really pretty smooth.  Initially tasted like burnt cinnamon.  Now I burned some cinnamon rolls one time and this Killian’s Irish Red did not taste a thing like that.  Nicely carbonated!  That must be where the burp factor comes in.  I agree with this comment.  Decent drinkability.  Yup, I’ll agree with that statement.

This was the tip of this iceberg though.  For a whole lot more comments on what beer drinkers think of Killian’s Irish Red, visit http://beeradvocate.com/beer/profile/306/909/.

I regress though, because I actually did look up the history of George Killian’s Red, and while it is currently brewed by Coors, it actually came by way of the Pelforth Brewery in France, who bought it from Lett’s Brewery in Ireland (which closed by the way in 1956).  It was originally an Irish red ale called Enniscorthy Ruby Ale, brewed from 1864 to 1956. 

So, while this may not be an Irish brew now, it started out that way, and I’m glad I tried it.  If I were truly to become a beer drinker I would keep this one in my fridge.

About scoop1942

I am 73-years young with six grandchildren and one great-grandson , professional and recreational blogger, previous graphic artist, hospitality industry veteran, Jill of all trades; master of a few, plus hobbiest, re-cycler and dreamer. My steadfast companion for 17 years, Bubba, who is now deceased, reminded me daily of what loyalty was all about. I now have a rescued dog who has turned out to be the best dog I've every had; Annie, who is part Shepherd, part Boston is sweet natured and a wonderful companion. You can now find me on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and LinkedIn. Oh my; while social media may not have been meant for Grandmothers, it has sure turned my world on end . . . what else will technology bring our way. I just recently got a smart phone and texting is my game . . . LOL

Leave a Reply

