100 Bottles of Beer on the Wall . . .

Standard

I don’t know about you, but I remember singing this with some of my friends a time or two.  Now don’t get the wrong idea, most of the time we were not drinking when we sang this little diddy.  Where did it come from anyhow?

Remember me, or should I say, remember one of my bucket list items?  Yup, beer connoisseur and all that.  Well, I tried another new one.  I had never heard of Sierra Nevada Pale Ale until now.  The bottle, a short one, had a pretty green, old-timey looking label on it.  The term pale ale piqued my interest as well.  So it tried it.

I think I puckered my lips and scrunched my nose after the first sip.  My schnauzer was sitting not to far from me and I said aloud, “Bonnie, I’m not sure if I like this beer or not!”

It had a bold taste, and it tasted green, although I’m not quite sure what green tastes like, but I think it would taste like a Sierra Nevada Pale Ale.  I am sure there are a lot of beer aficionado’s out there who would disagree with me, so I will seek out the experts and read about my not so favorite brew.

Little did I know that this California Brewing Company is considred the premium craft brewery in the United States, and “critics proclaim it among the best beer brewed anywhere in the world.”

Okay, who am I to disagree with the critics, but we are entitled to our own opinions.  I did notice that the burp factor was minimal, at about a 4 (our of my burb scale from 1-10).

I actually felt like cooking a big batch of pasta, laced with garlic, good Italian Oregano and a few other spices, plus a loaf of freshly baked Italian bread slathered in butter.  This beer needed a hearty meal to accompany its bold taste, to my way of thinking.

The story of how this brew was born though is one worth reading.  It is like a fairy tale for a home brewer, a chemist no less, who made his dream come true.  Sierra Nevada is not just a brewery but a popular travel destination and attraction with its Sierra Nevada Taproom and Restaurant.  To learn more, visit http://www.sierranevada.com/about/history.html.

Perhaps this is what I need to do, visit their brewery and sample their brews, their lagers and their ales and redefine my opinion of the pale ale I have mixed feelings about.

Until my next cerveza . . .

About scoop1942

I am 74-years young with six grandchildren and one great-grandson, two great granddaughters, professional and recreational blogger, previous graphic artist, hospitality industry veteran, Jill of all trades; master of a few, plus hobbiest, re-cycler and dreamer. My steadfast companion for 17 years, Bubba, who is now deceased, reminded me daily of what loyalty was all about. I now have a rescued dog who has turned out to be the best dog I've every had; Annie, who is part Shepherd, part Boston is sweet natured and a wonderful companion. You can now find me on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and LinkedIn. Oh my; while social media may not have been meant for Grandmothers, it has sure turned my world on end . . . what else will technology bring our way. I just recently got a smart phone and texting is my game . . . LOL

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

