My Samuel Adams Boston Ale Experience

Standard

 

I slowly removed the top to the bottle of Samuel Adams Boston Ale, then before taking my first sip, I inhaled deeply of its aroma.  I don’t know why I did that except I thought it would give me some hint of the taste to come. 

Perhaps it was in recalling the scene in the movie French Kiss, when Kevin Kline (Luc) asks Meg Ryan (Kate) to close her eyes and tell him what comes to mind as she smells various samples of wine that Luc has created.  Kate seemed to be able to taste the wine just by taking in the aroma through the sense of smell.  My experience was not quite that romantic however.

I did; however, think of richness and boldness.  Then I took my first sip and thought about it for a moment or two before the next two or three sips.  It tasted similar to what I thought it would.  It was rich in flavor, and to quote Samuel Adams own characteristics of their Boston Ale,” it offers a full, rich flavor that is both balanced and complex.”  After reading their description (which I did after I drank the Boston Ale) I realized I was close to being on the money as to my personal opinion of this specific brew.  To my way of thinking; it is a darn good ale.

Samuel Adams Boston Ale was introduced in 1985, when the rage at that time was light beers, although the original recipe was conceived in 1870.  Accordingly, the introduction of Samuel Adams, served as ”the catalyst to other small brewers, and the microbrew revolution took hold.”  To learn more about the history of Samuel Adams, visit http://www.samueladams.com/world_of_beer.aspx.

I just love the fact that you can go right to the web and get everything you want, including recipes for great food and beverage parings.  When visiting the Samuel Adams website be sure to click on the tab, “Great Food Has Met its Match.”  It is a pretty thorough and descriptive piece of information about food and beverage pairings (more specifically Samuel Adams beer and ales).  They cover it all, but to get my two cents worth in, I will share with you the dish I prepared to go with my Samuel Adams Boston Ale tasting. 

Scoop’s Simple but Mighty Tasty Grilled Salmon

I marinated a 4 ounce salmon filet with a combination of Mediterranean dipping oil (extra virgin olive oil infused with garlic) and a Zesty Italian dipping oil (extra virgin olive oil and canola oil with Italian spices and red peppers) for an hour or so.  (Both dipping oils are Private Selection brand purchased at Kroger). 

After removing the salmon from the marinade, I pressed the filet into a seasoning blend (Tone’s Salmon and Seafood seasoning and additional red pepper flakes) before putting it on my stove-top ‘grill’ griddle.  The only thing I did to the griddle was to spray it with non-stick Canola spray and pre-heated it on medium heat for about 2 minutes.  I sprinkled the salmon with a minimal amount of sea salt after placing it on the griddle.  In less than six minutes I had a perfectly grilled piece of salmon. 

The Samuel Adams Boston Ale stood up to the spicy flavor of the grilled salmon filet, and was a nice beverage accompaniment.  I added a piece of artisan pumpernickel bread slathered with soft creamy butter and I enjoyed a simple, but restaurant quality, Super bowl XLIV meal.

Burp Factor(using a scale of 1–10, with 10 being the loudest and/or most obnoxious burp)

My burp factor for the Samuel Adams Boston Ale came in at about a 4, with two burps, maybe three before finishing the bottle.   I imagine the burp factor could be higher if I guzzled the beer (like a lot of folks I know who drink beer).  For this 67-year old gal, 4 is okay with me!

Next up – Second half of the Super Bowl Beer Parade . . . until then, Prost!

Disclaimer:  Please note that everything stated here is my personal opinion and not that of anyone else; therefore, my interpretation could be challenged by others because they too have their own opinions.  My blog is not to be considered an advertisement or commercial endorsement of any product or company I might mention.  I simply cite the name(s) and provide reference material to enable the readers of my blog to learn more about what I am blogging about. 

About scoop1942

I am 73-years young with six grandchildren and one great-grandson , professional and recreational blogger, previous graphic artist, hospitality industry veteran, Jill of all trades; master of a few, plus hobbiest, re-cycler and dreamer. My steadfast companion for 17 years, Bubba, who is now deceased, reminded me daily of what loyalty was all about. I now have a rescued dog who has turned out to be the best dog I've every had; Annie, who is part Shepherd, part Boston is sweet natured and a wonderful companion. You can now find me on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and LinkedIn. Oh my; while social media may not have been meant for Grandmothers, it has sure turned my world on end . . . what else will technology bring our way. I just recently got a smart phone and texting is my game . . . LOL

Leave a Reply

